DJIBOUTI

50
Djibouti
In cooperation with local partners and churches, Open Doors supports the persecuted church in Djibouti through:
  • Discipleship and leadership training
  • Christian literature distribution
  • Socio-economic development

Source of persecution: Islamic oppression / Ethnic antagonism

Improvement for Christians

Djibouti is a small, poverty-stricken nation in East Africa surrounded by countries where Christians face extreme persecution – especially Eritrea and Somalia. Yet, the situation for believers in Djibouti seems to have improved over the years, unlike its neighbours. Be that as it may, Djiboutian Christians still face challenges in living out their faith.

Life in Djibouti

A Muslim-majority country, many of Djibouti’s citizens have strong family ties with Somalia, Yemen, and other Muslim nations with a strongly ingrained negative attitude towards the West and Christianity. Radical sheikhs and imams ridicule and preach against Christians at the mosque and community meetings. Believers who are known to evangelize experience severe persecution.

There are only a few Christians from a Muslim background, but they face immense pressure. They have to stay underground and live their Christian life in secret. However, life outside the city is communal, making it hard to hide their faith. If discovered, converts may be hindered from accessing community resources, harassed, or discriminated against when getting a job.

An autocratic government

The government is autocratic and there is no freedom of expression or press. It seeks to stay in power at all costs. The country depends greatly on support from Western countries. As such, even though it does not have a positive view of Christians, the regime has not taken more repressive actions towards them.

Please pray:

  • For grace to continue living for Christ in Djibouti’s communal and Islamic culture.
  • For the imams who preach against Christians, that their hearts will be softened, and that they will encounter Jesus.
  • That Christians will be able to forgive their persecutors and continue to use every opportunity to share the hope that we have in Christ with their fellow countrymen.

Image Gallery

Related News

Zem Zem Continues Strongly

Image:Horn of Africa Believer Zem Zem lives in the Horn of Africa. She grew up as a Muslim, but when she became...

World Watch List

2018 Map
Download

吉布提

50
吉布提

我们与当地的伙伴和教会合作,借助以下事工来坚固吉布提基督徒:

  • 门徒训练和领袖培训
  • 分发基督教书刊
  • 社会及经济发展

逼迫来源:伊斯兰压迫 / 种族敌对

基督徒状况有所改善

吉布提是一个受贫穷困扰的东非小国,包围着它的邻国全是基督徒面临极端逼迫的国家,尤其是厄立特里亚和索马里。然而,吉布提基督徒的处境近年来却有所改善,这与周边十分不同。尽管如此,吉布提基督徒仍然在活出信仰的过程中面临许多挑战。

活在吉布提

吉布提是一个穆斯林占多数的国家,其公民多有近亲住在索马里、也门等对西方和基督教深怀负面态度的穆斯林国家。激进的酋长和伊玛目在清真寺和社区聚会上讥笑基督徒,并传讲反对他们的信息。福音事工曝光的基督徒遭受着严重逼迫。

该国的穆斯林归主者很少,他们面临的压力却很重。他们不得不低调行事,秘密地过基督徒生活。然而,大城市之外的人们生活联系紧密,使他们很难隐瞒信仰。一旦曝光,归主者可能被禁止使用社区资源,遭到骚扰,或在就业时遭到歧视。

独裁政府

吉布提当局施行独裁统治,人民没有言论或出版自由。政府不择手段地维持政权。然而该国极其依赖西方国家的援助。因此,虽然当局对基督徒没有好感,却也没有对他们采取更重的镇压手段。

代祷事项:

  • 祈求基督徒坚持在吉布提紧密的集体生活和伊斯兰教文化中活出基督的恩典。
  • 为传讲敌对基督徒信息的伊玛目祷告,求主软化他们的心,使他们遇到耶稣。
  • 祈求基督徒能饶恕逼迫者,并坚持利用一切机会来与同胞分享我们在基督里的盼望。

图片集

相关消息

赞赞仍然坚强信靠主

图像:非洲之角信徒...

全球守望名单

2018 地图
免费下载